texas oncology more breakthroughs. more victories
  • Request an Appointment
  • Find a cancer center
  • Find a provider
  • Clinical Trials



Fred Ekery, M.D.

Executive Vice President, Managing Director

Fred N. Ekery, M.D., serves on the executive committee of the Texas Oncology board of directors and the Texas Oncology Executive Committee, in addition to serving as a medical director for west and south Texas.

In December 2002, Dr. Ekery retired from active medical practice, having served for two years as president and chair of the Texas Oncology board of directors. He also served as president of The US Oncology Network National Policy Board and as chairman of the iKnowMed Advisory Committee, as well as medical director of development for The US Oncology Network.

Dr. Ekery specializes in medical oncology and hematology. He is board certified in internal medicine, medical oncology, and hematology by the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Dr. Ekery received his Bachelor of Arts from Texas Western College, now The University of Texas at El Paso, and his medical degree from The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, Texas, in 1963. He completed a medicine internship at Parkland Memorial Hospital in Dallas, in 1964, his residency in internal medicine at Bellevue Hospital in New York City, N.Y., in 1965 and then returned to Parkland Memorial Hospital to complete his internal medicine residency and a fellowship in hematology and oncology in 1967.

Dr. Ekery previously served a number of years as a member of the board of directors of Providence Memorial Hospital in El Paso, as well as medical director of oncology and president of the medical staff.

Dr. Ekery is a founding member of the Southern Society of Medical Oncology and a founding member and past president of the Texas Society of Medical Oncology. He is also a member of the American Medical Association, American Society of Clinical Oncology, El Paso Medical Society, Southern Association for Oncology, Southern Medical Association, Southwestern Oncology Group, Texas Medical Association, and Texas Society of Medical Oncology. He is past president of the El Paso chapter of the American Cancer Society.